The Catholic University of America

Steering Committee of the Center for Medieval & Byzantine Studies (2014-15)

Lilla Kopár (Director; English), Jennifer Davis (Associate Director; History), Robin Darling Young (Theology and Religious Studies), Tobias Hoffmann (Philosophy), Fr. Nicholas Lombardo (Theology and Religious Studies), Jennifer Paxton (History), and Philip Rousseau (Early Christian Studies).

Graduate student representative: Beth Newman Ooi.

 

Affiliated Faculty Members

Members of the faculty of Medieval and Byzantine Studies are drawn from the Schools of Arts and Sciences, Canon Law, Theology and Religious Studies, Philosophy, and Music, and include:

Lilla Kopár, Director

Associate Professor, Department of English
  • Ph.D., University of Szeged, Hungary
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Old (and Middle) English language and literature, Viking-age stone sculpture, Germanic mythology, medieval Scandinavia.
  • kopar@cua.edu

Jennifer R. Davis, Associate Director

Assistant Professor, Department of History
  • Ph.D., Harvard University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Early medieval history, especially the Carolingians, early medieval archeology.
  • davisj@cua.edu 

Rev. Stefanos Alexopoulos

Assistant Professor, School of Theology and Religious Studies
  • Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Byzantine liturgical history.
  • alexopoulos@cua.edu

Fr. Regis Armstrong

Professor, School of Theology and Religious Studies
  • Ph.D., Fordham University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Franciscan and Medieval theology, Christian spirituality.
  • regisja@cua.edu

Joshua Benson

Associate Professor, School of Theology and Religious Studies
  • Ph.D., Saint Louis University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Systematic theology, history of medieval theology, history of Franciscan thought.
  • bensonj@cua.edu

Monica J. Blanchard

Curator, Semitics/ICOR Library
  • Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Languages and literatures of the Christian Near East, orientalist librarianship.
  • blanchard@cua.edu

Claudia Bornholdt

Associate Professor and Acting Dean of Arts & Sciences
  • Ph.D., Indiana University at Bloomington
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Germanic languages and literatures, medieval European literature.
  • bornholdt@cua.edu

Aaron M. Butts

Assistant Professor, Department of Semitic and Egyptian Languages and Literatures
  • Ph.D., University of Chicago
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Language, literature, and history of the Christian Near East, especially Syriac, Arabic, and Ethiopic.
  • buttsa@cua.edu

Joseph E. Capizzi

Associate Professor, School of Theology and Religious Studies
  • Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Medieval political theology, war and peace.
  • capizzi@cua.edu

Mark Clark

Associate Professor, School of Theology and Religious Studies
  • Ph.D., Columbia University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Medieval theology, the Bible and theology in the early Scholastic period.
  • clarkm@cua.edu

Gregory T. Doolan

Associate Professor, School of Philosophy
  • Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Medieval philosophy and metaphysics.
  • doolan@cua.edu

Thérèse-Anne Druart

Professor, School of Philosophy
  • Ph.D., Université Catholique de Louvain; B. Phil., Oxford University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Medieval Arabic philosophy, Greek philosophy (Plato), medieval Latin philosophy.
  • druart@cua.edu

Sarah Brown Ferrario

Associate Professor, Department of Greek and Latin
  • Ph.D., Princeton University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Greek history and literature, particularly of the fifth and fourth centuries, B.C.
  • ferraris@cua.edu

Michael Gorman

Associate Professor, School of Philosophy
  • Ph.D., SUNY Buffalo; B.C., Boston University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Metaphysics and Christology.
  • gorman@cua.edu

Nora Heimann

Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Art
  • Ph.D., The Graduate Center, The City University of New York
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Joan of Arc in art and culture, medieval and Gothic revival, religion and art, hagiography, women and gender.
  • heimann@cua.edu

Tobias Hoffmann

Associate Professor, School of Philosophy
  • Ph.D., Universite de Fribourg
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Thomas Aquinas, John Duns Scotus, medieval ethics.
  • hoffmann@cua.edu

Katherine L. Jansen

Professor, Department of History
  • Ph.D., Princeton University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Medieval Italy; medieval women and gender; religious and cultural history.
  • jansen@cua.edu 
William Klingshirn

Professor and Chair, Department of Greek and Latin
  • Ph.D., Stanford University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Late antique history, Roman religion, Christianization, divination.
  • klingshirn@cua.edu

Angela McKay Knobel

Associate Professor, School of Philosophy
  • Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Virtue, ethics, Thomas Aquinas.
  • mckay@cua.edu

William P. Loewe

Associate Professor, School of Theology and Religious Studies
  • Ph.D., Marquette University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Systematic and fundamental theology, especially Christology and soteriology, Lonergan Studies.
  • loewe@cua.edu

Rev. Nicholas Lombardo, O.P.

Assistant Professor, School of Theology and Religious Studies
  • Ph.D., University of Cambridge
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Theology of God, soteriology, theological anthropology, Thomas Aquinas
  • lombardon@cua.edu

Frank A.C. Mantello

Professor, Department of Greek and Latin
  • Ph.D., University of Toronto
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Medieval Latin, Latin paleography, textual criticism.
  • mantello@cua.edu

William C. Mattison III

Associate Professor, School of Theology and Religious Studies
  • Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Moral theology of St. Thomas Aquinas, virtue ethics.
  • mattison@cua.edu

Rev. Mark Morozowich

Associate Professor and Acting Provost, School of Theology and Religious Studies
  • SEOL, SEOD, Pontifical Oriental Institute
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Byzantine liturgy.
  • morozowich@cua.edu

Timothy B. Noone

Professor, School of Philosophy
  • Ph.D., University of Toronto
  • Research/Teaching Interests: John Duns Scotus, Franciscan philosophy, metaphysics in the High Middle Ages, medieval intellectual culture.
  • noonet@cua.edu

Jennifer Paxton

Assistant Director of the University Honors Program and Clinical Assistant Professor of History
  • Ph.D., Harvard University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Medieval England and Ireland, medieval monasticism.
  • paxton@cua.edu

Kenneth Pennington

Kelly-Quinn Professor of Ecclesiastical and Legal History, Columbus School of Law and School of Canon Law
  • Ph.D., Cornell University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Ancient, medieval and early modern legal history, history of constitutional thought, political theory, Church history, history of universities, paleography.
  • pennington@cua.edu

John F. Petruccione

Associate Professor, Department of Greek and Latin
  • Ph.D., University of Michigan
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Latin Patristics, early Christian poetry and hagiography.
  • petruccione@cua.edu

Lawrence R. Poos

Professor, Department of History
  • Ph.D., Cambridge University
  • Research Interests: Late medieval social and economic history.
  • poos@cua.edu

Philip Rousseau

Director and Andrew W. Mellon Professor, Center for the Study of Early Christianity
  • Ph.D., Oxford University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Late antique religion with emphasis on early Christian asceticism.
  • rousseau@cua.edu

Shawqi Talia

Instructor, Department of Semitic and Egyptian Languages and Literatures
  • Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Arabic, Neo-Syriac, Garshuni texts, simultaneous interpretation (Arabic-English).
  • talia@cua.edu

Janet Timbie

Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Semitic and Egyptian Languages and Literatures
  • Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Coptic, Egyptian asceticism and monasticism.
  • jtimbie@worldnet.att.net

Matthias Vorwerk

Associate Professor and Associate Dean, School of Philosophy
  • Ph.D., University of Münster, Germany
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Ancient philosophy, Plato, Plotinus, Neoplatonism.
  • vorwerk@cua.edu

Grayson Wagstaff

Dean and Director of the Latin American Music Center, Benjamin T. Rome School of Music
  • Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Late medieval, Renaissance, and Baroque music in Spain and Mexico.
  • wagstaff@cua.edu

Lev Weitz

Assistant Professor, Department of History
  • Ph.D., Princeton University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Medieval Middle East, law and society, non-Muslims in Islamic societies.
  • weitz@cua.edu

Susan Wessel

Associate Professor, School of Theology and Religious Studies
  • Ph.D., Columbia University
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Early Church History, Patristics, Conciliar History, Christology, Moral Psychology.
  • wessels@cua.edu

Kevin White

Associate Professor, School of Philosophy
  • Ph.D., University of Ottawa
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Medieval Latin philosophy, medieval rhetoric, Thomas Aquinas.
  • whitek@cua.edu

Monsignor John H. Wippel

Professor, School of Philosophy
  • Ph.D., University of Louvain
  • Research/ Teaching Interests: Medieval philosophy, Thomas Aquinas, Godfrey of Fontaines.
  • wippel@cua.edu

Fr. James A. Wiseman

Professor, School of Theology and Religious Studies
  • S.T.D., The Catholic University of America
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Christian spirituality, including that of some medieval authors.
  • wiseman@cua.edu

Rev. Michael G. Witczak

Associate Professor, School of Theology and Religious Studies
  • SLL and SLD, Pontifical Liturgical Institute (Pontifical Athenaeum S. Anselmo), Rome
  • Research/Teaching Interests: History of the liturgy, sacramental liturgy, Medieval Latin liturgy, especially the development of the Ordo missae, the cult of the saints.
  • witczak@cua.edu

Robin Darling Young

Associate Professor, School of Theology and Religious Studies
  • Ph.D. University of Chicago
  • Research/Teaching InterestsHistory of Early Christianity, Patristic Theology, Eastern Christianity (Greek, Syriac, Armenian), Monasticism.
 

Emeritus Professors

Uta Renate Blumenthal

Professor Emerita, Department of History
  • Ph.D., Columbia University
  • Research Interests: Medieval institutional history, the Investiture Controversy.
  • blumenthal@cua.edu

Fr. Sidney Griffith

Professor Emeritus, Department of Semitic and Egyptian Languages and Literatures
  • Ph.D., Catholic University of America
  • Research/Teaching Interests: Arabic Christianity, Syriac monasticism, medieval Christian-Muslim encounters, ecumenical and interfaith dialogue.
  • griffith@cua.edu

Joan T. Grimbert

Professor Emerita, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures
  • Ph.D., University of Chicago
  • Research Interests: Medieval French literature and language.
  • grimbert@cua.edu

Fr. John Lynch

Professor Emeritus, School of Canon Law
  • Ph.D., University of Toronto
  • Research Interests: History of canon law, medieval history.
  • lynch@cua.edu

Stephen Wright

Professor Emeritus, Department of English Language and Literature
  • Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Research Interests: Middle English and European literature, medieval drama.
  • wrights@cua.edu

 

Visiting Fellows

2011-2012:
Joshua A. Westgard, Ph.D
UCLA, Reichenau-St. Gall Virtual Library Project